Skip to content

Wallpaper Art

October 20, 2011

Alright, so “Wallpaper Project” has been checked off the To Do List for sometime now… and I figured maybe it was time to give you an update.  This is a really simple and cheap project that can be done when you need a pick-me-up moment or some frugal wall art to complete a room! 

We started with two square frames from Goodwill, $2.25 each, and I loved the bluish-gray color of the frame, so no painting needed, just a new interior!  While at Goodwill, I checked out the wallpaper bin – there are usually remnants from someone else’s project and you can get some really great deals for a small project – this is my $.25 worth of wallpaper.

Now we are ready to start!  First I need to clean the frames.  To get the price tag stickers off, I used the lighter fluid trick first discussed here – then I got to work on the permanent marker.  Aerosol hairspray removes permanent marker… did you know that?!  I will even remove it from fabric, such as a couch (don’t ask how I know).  Just spray a little on, let it sit for a minute and then wipe it away with a paper towel.

So here they are, all clean – along with the arsenal of products I used.

Next up, replacing the artwork.  Start by removing the backs of the frames.

Once everything is disassembled, grab your wallpaper.

It is time to start cutting.  All I did was lay the picture from the frame on the back of the wallpaper and trim around it.  Super Simple!

Then just reassemble everything, and stand back.

Quick project that will go in one of our guest rooms.  I still may put something on top of the wallpaper, such as a monogram or a silhouette… but for now, I am loving the big bold pattern.  Total project cost – $4.75

Happy Thursday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jayme permalink
    October 20, 2011 9:11 am

    Great artwork! I had no idea about the hairspray trick. I’m going to have to remember that.

  2. Keri permalink
    October 23, 2011 8:37 am

    Cute Kelli! I am having a really hard time understanding that someone out there has an entire room full of this wallpaper. Talk about sensory overload!! Jayme, the hairspray thing even works if a brother draws with permanant marker all over his little sister’s “favorite” shirt. You can imagine just how I know that. That darn Jared was such a rascal!

Leave a Reply

