Skip to content

The Caped Crusader

November 2, 2011

Welcome back to Superhero Week at The Helm House!

Today is a special day, because we are partaking in the quarterly Pinterest Challenge!  The Pinterest Challenge is hosted this round by fantabulous creators Sherry of YHL and Katie of Bower Power, guest hosting this round are Ana and Erin!  Thanks so much for putting this on, and lighting fires under ke-sters a few times a year to got some projects completed!

During last Summer’s challenge, my project was a mosaic wall art piece to go in the guest room once completed.  This time, I decided to go with something that we greatly need!  Today, we will pay honor to the one and only, Caped Crusader – aka Batman – in honor of Superhero Week!

Why the Batman you may ask?  Well when I planned out this project, instead of thinking “curtains” I kept coming back to “capes”.  So I guess the whole reason behind this project was to come up with some capes ahem curtains for our three picture windows.

We have three beautiful picture windows in our house, one in the dining room, living room and den.  You can see them all in our First Floor House Tour!  We love them, and were some of the character elements that stuck with us in the decision to buy this hundred year old charmer.  But after a year and a half of living here, they were still bare… 

Here were our requirements: 1. They had to hang low, so they wouldn’t cover the stained glass.  2. We couldn’t have a roller blind, because I am not smart enough to run one of those, and break them on the first pull… no joke, it happens every time…  3. They had to be cheap… we didn’t have a big budget and we had three big windows.  We set a budget of $25 per window.  So let me show you what I came up with.

The first supply: A 9×12 foot canvas dropcloth from Menards.  It was a whopping $19.97… and would give me everything I needed.

Additional supplies included Riktig Curtain Rings found at Ikea, $2.99 for a 10 pack.  I purchased three packs, one for each window.  We decided to go with curtain rings because of the cat and his need to tear things down.  We figured we would much rather have him pull the panel of the rings, than the rod off the wall!

Curtain Rods, scored in the Walmart clearance section.  They were marked down to $15, but rang up at $9 each.  I got three rods total.  They were a goldish color, not a huge hit at my house, so I grabbed a can of Rustoleum’s Oil Rubbed Bronze spray paint for $5.97.  Also, since I don’t have a sewing machine at this time, I grabbed three eight-yard rolls of hem tape for $1.77 a piece.  And that’s all my supplies!

First, I grabbed my curtain rods and spray paint then headed to the garage to give them a good coat.  Then I spread out the dropcloth.  Here is how I cut the cloth into six curtain panels, two for each window sized 3×6.

The entire process was really easy… painted the curtain rods, cut the canvas, hemmed up the edges and hung everything on the wall.  Okay, well I did this all last night, so I only actually got the dining room set hung… but it is good enough for now!  I apologize for the bad pictures, they were taken around 10:30 last night… and I had to use my flash.  So let’s spice them up, Batman style!

Holy Curtains Batman!  I couldn’t be happier!  Now I don’t have to feel like we are on display for the entire neighborhood like some crazy inside out fishbowl!  Chris can keep doing a wacky version of a Skydancer without me rolling my eyes, and during celebratory moments I can do The Carlton without an overwhelming sense of shame!

So let’s see the total cost breakdown and see how we did on budget!

  • Canvas Dropcloth – $19.97
  • Curtain Rings (x3) – $8.97
  • Curtain Rods (x3) – $27.00
  • Spray Paint – $5.97
  • Hem Tape (x3) – $5.31
  • Total After Tax – $71.84
  • Total Per Window – $23.95

Woot woot!  Totally under budget!  We are totally happy, now I just need to hang up the other two and then look at painting the walls!  Happy Wednesday!  I’ll see you all back here tomorrow and then again on Friday to wrap up Superhero Week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marsha permalink
    November 2, 2011 11:57 am

    Fantastic job on the curtains – nothing wrong with hem tape, now you don’t have seam lines.

  2. November 2, 2011 1:52 pm

    You ROCK…you never cease to amaze me with your talent!

  3. November 2, 2011 4:11 pm

    Wow. At first I was like ‘Hey Ive got a need for new curtains and have an unused dropcloth at my disposal..” and then I was like “Wow that’s a neat id…..HAHAHAH!!!” For serious. I love Batman humor. AND Great graphic design work. 😀

Leave a Reply

