Skip to content

Hello, Hello, Hello!

February 1, 2012

Wow, over a month… well welcome to February! I’ve decided I need to make more time for blogging, or I will never make time for it after the baby! We have been super busy here at The Helm House, with work and loads of family time in January! We are definitely ready for February!

For starters, let’s do a little recap. 2011, great year! We got house projects completed, such as the lawn work behind our garage, a new roof on the front porch and a new faux fireplace in the dining room.  Chris started finished his gunsmithing degree and got a new job.  I took a couple classes and worked on my photography skills, landing a couple of shoots.  And we were blessed with the news of a little Helm arriving mid-2012!  Ahem, okay back to my story…

We had set forth 10 resolutions for 2011, and while we did well for a few months, they all fell to the wayside. So this year we decided to take a more practical approach to things. We decided we were going to pick five projects to complete this year! This won’t include smaller projects like spraypaint makeovers or little wiring jobs, but some of those larger projects that require a budget and possibly powertools.

This year we chose to first finish up the guestroom, which has actually now changed to the nursery (more on that soon), finish the inside of the front porch, a new table & chairs for the dining room, complete the upstairs bathroom and paint the living & dining rooms. We gave this a ton of consideration, and think that our time and budget should allow for these projects if we start planning now! So what was our first plan!?

We declared February a “no spend month!” What does that entail? Well we set our own rules on this matter. We will continue to buy the necessities that we need (bills, food, gas, etc.), we will not buy any supplies for projects (we need to finish up what we have going), no thrift store purchases that just go into the attic to be seen sometime in the future. There is one exception to the thrift store rule… if I come across any predetermined bargains, they can we purchased and gifts that need to be bought (also predetermined by both of us).

For example, we are still on the lookout for a dresser and a rocker for the nursery, so if I find a great deal at Goodwill, an exception can be made. Why the exception? I have been looking for over a year now (yes, long before the Monster was even conceived) and I have yet to find something… so if February is the month, we are not going to miss out on the deal!

This may not seem like a huge challenge to some, but consider that I have two trips to The Cities this month and will be within blocks of both Ikea and my favorite Goodwill store… with no budget to buy anything I am going to have to drive right past them. This could be enough to send me into shock all by itself. The whole point of this exercise will be to get us to use what we have, and the added bonus of saving money will help with some of our bigger projects coming this year!

So first up, the guestroom nursery! We have everything we need to finish the “construction” in this room, and we have for well over six months! Why haven’t we finished!? Lack of motivation… the fact that we despise our plastered walls with their uneven angles… crown molding and uneven angles make me want to pull out my hair… yeah, we have our reasons, but it’s time to get over it. We’ve got a baby with an EDD 15 weeks away! We started this back up this weekend, so I’ll fill you in on how it is going soon! Along with some fun stuff along the way.

You may also notice that our To Do List in the upper righthand corner has changed.  While some of the 2011 project fell to the side, these projects are all big needs, as you can see most of them revolve around the arrival of our little Monster.  With only a month left in our “Winter To Do’s” we combined both Winter and Spring to kick off 2012… so our deadline for this list is the end of May… wish us luck!

This blog is big a motivator and I have missed thee! Get ready for a February filled with projects and posts, cause I’ve got no money to head to the auctions! Also, I will be sharing a few of my photo shoots on here since my photography blog is just not ready at this time, and probably won’t be for a while…

(Sorry for the lack of pictures in this post, my computer went down and I am having to live with the photos already on the blog at the moment, hopefully my smartypants computer savvy brother can get it fixed soon!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jared Johnson permalink
    February 1, 2012 9:34 am

    Well, it’s about time! I’ll have you know I check here every morning, and I’m glad I finally have something new to read! Good luck this month, let’s see some willpower!

  2. Tiana Johnson permalink
    February 1, 2012 11:34 am

    I have to agree with Jared on this. I too check it everyday! Good luck this month!

  3. February 1, 2012 3:00 pm

    I’m glad to be back too! If you little buggers are free on Saturday, I’ll have paint brushes ready to go! 🙂

  4. Kris Jorgenson permalink
    February 2, 2012 10:46 am

    I am right with Jared and Tiana!!! So glad to see you back at it…but a little bummed that there weren’t any baby belly pictures 🙂 So please post or send some!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hehe

Leave a Reply

