Skip to content

The Painting is Finished!

March 12, 2012

Well Chris got my computer close to running, but found me a backup for now.  My regular computer with all my pictures should be back up and running by the end of the week, yay!  Anywho, I was able to gather enough to throw out some posts this week, so stay tuned!

 First up, let’s talk baby!  We are currently in Week 31… during our 28 week appointment, the doc stated he might be moving our due date up a little cause our baby is a big one!  With that said, we knew we had to get this baby train moving… enter the nursery!

 Last you saw, it looked something like this.  Shelves, replacing the eye-sore closet that used to be there, were built but not painted.  And the crown molding was installed, but again, not finished.  Well it was time for that to change.  Enter me, with a paint brush and a determined look on my pregger face a few Saturdays ago.

  

I started with priming the plywood that we built the shelves out of.  I used my favorite Zinnser’s oil based primer to give it a good seal with a single coat. 

While that was drying (which doesn’t take very long), I taped off the trim work in the room for a final coat of paint and spent the rest of the night painting a fresh coat of white paint (Dutch Boy, out of the can white) on all the trim, and the two coats on the shelves.  Sorry, not many pictures of this, my ever growing butt was exhausted.

 

The following day, I was determined to finish the painting!  All I needed was the gray to go on the walls around the shelves and my sister (Hi Tiana!) came over and started painting in the closet for me, but more on that another time.  Chris also joined in the fun, and quickly installed my new dimmer switch… I don’t want to blind that baby in the middle of the night.

Once everything was dry, this is what we were left with.  Beautiful shelves and crisp, clean molding and base boards.

I was shot.  Kicked up my feet for the rest of the night, watched Walking Dead and dozed off right afterwards… but I am happy to announce that the painting is D-O-N-E!!!  Yippee!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

