Skip to content

Another Pinterest Challenge

March 14, 2012

Hello Again!  And welcome to another Pinterest Challenge!  For those of you who don’t know, The Pinterest Challenge is to get all of us to stop just pinning and start creating, and this Winter 2012 edition is another one for the record books, okay maybe just my record book.

The Pinterest Challege is co-founded by Katie and Sherry, you can click on their links today to see what projects they choose for the challenge – along with their co-hosts for this edition, Cassie and Erin.  Some great stuff going on over there, and don’t forget to check out all of the other participants!

Anywho, what did I do for this edition?  Well, for the first edition you might remember that I did a mosiac challenge, and the second was of course our drop canvas curtains during the oh-so exciting superhero week!  But this time around, my project was inspired by the following two pins.

The pin on the left, had me at hello.  I had a friend’s wedding coming up and knew this would be the perfect gift, clicked thru to the original source, only to discover it wasn’t a tutorial but instead a site to order it already done for a whopping $325 dollars, plus shipping from the UK.  While it is beautiful, I just knew I couldn’t afford it… so I did try to hunt down wooden letters, but the tiny sizes and the “&” sign proved difficult to find… so I needed a solution.

Enter the pin on the right, originally sourced to Virginia’s blog.  The pin stated to use elmer’s glue on canvas, but once I went to her blog for a full tutorial, I learned that the pin lied and she infact suggested that we should use puff paint, brilliant!  And affordable!  Her tutorial is great, so I will refer you to her site for all the details and give you just a glimpse here.

I headed off to Michael’s with a coupon in hand, to return with a 20×20 inch canvas and some puff paint.  When I got home I grabbed wax paper from my pantry and got to work.

I started off by printing out my letters, I just kept playing with the sizes until I found what I thought would look nice and the font style I chose was Sylfaen.

Then I just cut the letters out into smaller strips, that I could easily manipulate under my wax paper.

I loved Virginia’s suggestion for using the wax paper instead of painting directly onto the canvas.  At least then I could just shift my words around if I messed up the paint or got one of those notorious air bubble bursts!

Next up was gluing them to the canvas.  So first, letting my OCD tendancies take over, I drew a grid on my canvas in order to line everything up just right, and hopefully get it all centered.  Sorry, hard to see with white-on-white.

Here is a closer shot… you can see I even marked my painted letters and the canvas for the larger letters, so that once I got glue on the back I could line them up perfectly once again.  So glue everything down I used a small paint brush and some mod podge on the back of each letter.

Then it came time to paint, a quick trip out to the garage and two coats of Rustoleum’s Ivory spray paint and…

Ta da! Great wedding/shower gift at just a fraction of the cost.  I will not disclose the cost, since this went to Michelle (and I know she’s reading this), but let’s just say I have more fingers on my hands than the dollars it took to complete this.  Sorry Michelle, you know how frugal I can be!

The only thing I would like to figure out how to do better next time around are the large letters.  When the puff paint dried it created “waves” and the letters didn’t come out as smooth… any thoughts or suggestions on how to avoid this?  Have you done any wall art lately?  Do you have friends as cheap as me, or do you get the $325 masterpiece from yours?  If so, I’d love to be their friend too!  Happy Wednesday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jayme B permalink
    March 14, 2012 8:21 am

    Love the Pinterest challenge! I just blogged about starting to try recipes and I also have a bunch of crafts I need to start as well. But let me tell you my free time is limited as when I get home from work and on the weekends all I want to do is play with Brooklyn. You’ll see how life changes when Baby H arrives!!! P.S. I think you should do a baby bump update post 🙂

    • March 14, 2012 8:46 am

      I was thinking I should get a picture up… haven’t taken any this whole pregnancy – must make me a bad mommy… I’ve been waiting for a good hair day, but those just don’t seem to happen anymore 🙂

  2. March 14, 2012 11:59 am

    So cute! I like how you combined the 2 ideas together.

  3. March 19, 2012 7:37 pm

    I might have to try this! Definitely easy and cheap. Great job, and thanks for linking up with the Winter Pinterest Challenge!

    Erin

Leave a Reply

