Skip to content

Pinterest Challenge – Flower Mobile

July 10, 2012

Hi Everyone!  And welcome back for another pinterest challenge at The Helm House!  This is our fourth time participating in these challenges (the brain child of the always witty Sherry from Young House Love and Katie from Bower Power).

Our previous challenge projects included some mosaic wall art, drop cloth curtains and  a textured canvas… if you have time, be sure to check them out!  Otherwise, without further ado, lets move on to this Summer’s challenge! 

With the arrival of our baby girl in May, most of my projects are very baby oriented and this one isn’t any different.  It started with a peg board that we installed above her changing table, but we need something for her to look at to cover the big empty space.

A mobile was in order, so out to Pinterest I went!  And these are what I found…

#1 is from Polka Dots on Parade and I loved all the colors, same with #2 from Scrap Yard Cards.  #3 I loved for it’s simplicity, and is originally from Say Yes to Hoboken.  I was planning to one with paper circles like these, until the other weekend at Emma’s final baby shower when we had used small crocheted flowers (purchased from twpmango on Etsy) on some branches for decorations.  I figured the flowers would be great for Emma’s mobile!

So I started by picking out the pink, blue and green flowers.  Then I grabbed buttons from Walmart in the same colors and began stitching them together.  Real simple stiches, essentially just from the front, looped around the back and tied with a simple knot.

Once I finished with the flowers, I got out a 5 inch embroidery hoop I had grabbed from JoAnn Fabrics.  I originally thought I would paint it, but decided that I would like it wrapped with yarn more… so I attached all of my flowers into strands using embroidery thread and then attached them to my hoop.

After finishing that, I tied yarn on to the hoop to make a handle to hang from her peg board and then finally I wrapped the hoop in yarn.

Ta-Da!  One flower mobile, all ready to go!  Sorry, I don’t have a picture of it on the peg board, we are not currently home right now – so I will have to give you an update later! )

We were going to run it by Emma for approval at this point, but she was already asleep for the night… slacker 🙂

Anywho, I have to admit that I thoroughly love Pinterest and use it all the time!  We do lots of Pinterest projects here at The Helm House like our Floating Bookshelves in the nursery inspired by a project from Kara’s Korner.

And our Fingerprint Tree Guestbook, that we found out in the pinning world with no original source.  But we will back back with more on this guestbook project later on this week, we would like to share how it turned out after all of our showers are complete.

If you would like to follow us on Pinterest, be sure to look us up here!  Otherwise, we want to send out a big thank you to both Sherry and Katie for coming up with this great challenge that gets us motivated at least a couple times a year!  This edition they are cohosting wtih the wonderful Kate from Centsational Girl and Michelle from Ten June.

Thanks again gals for hosting this and thanks to all of you for stopping by!  Hope to see you again soon, we’ll be back with more later on this week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonda permalink
    July 10, 2012 4:28 pm

    So cute! I think Emma is going to love it!

  2. Jennifer BP permalink
    July 11, 2012 11:10 pm

    Love this! Super adorable–good call with the wrapped yarn 🙂

Leave a Reply

