Skip to content

Whoops… Bonus Post!

August 10, 2012

Well I guess I need to pay closer attention to my dates if I am going to blog all in one night and then schedule my posts… I had mentioned in my post on Wednesday that there wouldn’t be another post until Friday – well I pulled a airhead move and scheduled Friday’s post of the 9th – in the words of Homer Simpson, “doh!”

So, this week you get a bonus post!  Yay!  Some of you noticed in yesterday’s post showing Emma’s new gallery wall, that we hung curtains in her room also in the picture below!  I thought I would take a minute to give you the deets!

I wanted to find blackout curtains for her room, so that when she sleeps in, she wouldn’t be awaken a moment too soon by the sunlight!  (Side Note: Emma has been sleeping through the night, from 10:30pm to 6:00am when I wake her up to get ready for daycare, for about three weeks now… yes we know how lucky we are!)

So I found the curtains below from Walmart, they are fun purply polka dots, and they were $12.97 for a single 48″ x 84″ panel.  Well Emma’s windows are narrow, and I knew I couldn’t put the rods out any further than the window frame since the wall butts up against the one window, so a single panel for each window would be great!  The rods were also purchased at Walmart for  $5.97 each, bring the total cost per window to $18.94!

To make the single panels look like doubles, I simply enlisted my mom (hi mom!) to cut each panel in half and hem the up!  I don’t currently have a working sewing machine, so Grandma’s skill are greatly appreciated!

Also, Emma’s closet doesn’t have a door – who knows were previous owners put it, so we ended up buying a third panel to hang inside the doorway.

Because this curtain rod wouldn’t be seen, and we would be sliding it open a lot, I wanted something super cheap and easy to open – I hate it when curtains get snagged on the rod…

So I simply went to menards and picked up an eight foot piece of 1/2″ PVC pipe for $.87 and two little clamp pieces for $.15 each, note I also pick up the curtain clips (for easy sliding) from Menards for $4.97.

After a quick installation, we were ready to go! 

The hubby actually hung up the curtains while I was at work one day… I have tried to get the wrinkles out, but no such luck.  I can’t iron them because of the blackout liner… I’ve tried drying them with some damp towels… nothing… any other suggestions?!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. marsha permalink
    August 10, 2012 6:36 am

    Emma’s room is so fun and pretty! I am so happy I got the opportunity to see it in person this week. I bought those same curtains in hot pink and zebra print for the rental house and tried it all too – I ended up ironing them with steam and it didn’t melt the blackout backing, but I’m not living there so I dared chance it.

    Yeah, grandma Keri on the sewing job!

    • August 10, 2012 8:56 am

      I will definitely give it a whirl! I’ll start with a small area to test it out, thanks for the tip!

  2. August 10, 2012 7:25 am

    Emma’s room looks great ~ looks the most wonderful place to sit & read all her books.

    • August 10, 2012 8:57 am

      We are loving ready books lately, Sock Monkey Boogie Woogie is a blast! But my favorite book is definitely “I Love You Through and Through” – we’ll have to read it to ya sometime! 🙂

Leave a Reply

