Skip to content

Thinking Outside The Box

August 15, 2012

I get asked a lot, how I can come up with new ways to use old items that I find at a thrift store… I credit it to a creative mom while growing up and more recently pinterest.  But also, the love of a good deal that I can make my own!

Take these containers for example.  I found them at my local thrift store priced $5.99 for the set, and they were having a 50% off storewide sale!  These beauties are generally used in a kitchen for holding flour, sugar, coffee, etc… but I wanted something for the nursery, so for $2.98 I snatched them up, brought them home and gave them a good scrubbing.

After they were all cleaned up, I taped them off for a couple coats of paint to add more color to Emma’s room.

While doing the taping, I removed the rubber seals from the lids… the items I was going to place in them doesn’t require the same freshness as kitchen staples 🙂

I ran down to the basement and pulled out a sample can of Pittsburgh Paints Madeira Red (originally purchased when we began work in what became the nursery, first mentioned in January 2011 here).   I put on two coats and then let them rest for two days to dry to a full cure.

Once fully cured, I put in Emma’s building blocks and tinker toys.  These should be great for her when she’s a little older and wants them easily accessible, and Mommy wants a quick clean up after play time.

Emma Jo, we are excited for you to get older and play with all of your toys, and really get full use out of your room… BUT we are happy to wait – so please stop growing up quite so fast 🙂

So that was our latest thrift store project.  We will be back with another post on Friday and we’ve got more projects to share next week, too!  What projects have you been up to lately?  Any thrifty finds?  Anything for the kiddos?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Trudy permalink
    August 15, 2012 8:49 am

    You make me smile everytime, please keep it up
    Lovely as usual/

  2. August 15, 2012 10:52 am

    This is SO cute and something even someone as craft-inept as me could do 🙂

Leave a Reply

