Skip to content

Fluttering By

August 20, 2012

So last week, we talking a lot about thriftyness and finds… so I thought I would share a few recent ones from Emma’s room.

This little guy was a gift from my cousin Avery… she outgrew this adorable rocking horse that our Grandpa built for her, so she was nice enough to share this with Emma now.  This little guy will always hold a special place in my heart.

In that picture, you get a glimpse of Emma’s new music table!  I scored this at the thrift store, marked $1, but 50% off, so for a whooping $.50 I snatched up this EverEarth Music Play Table!  I tried to find them online again, but they seem to be sold out in the US (possibly discontinued), anywho… this bad boy was $44.99 on Amazon not that long ago… looks like Emma’s is missing three or four small pieces, but we’re okay with that for 99% savings!

 Then there is the crib skirt that I snagged for $3, I love the different colored ruffles and that it looks homemade!

When we last talked Nursery Art, I showed this picture of the prints gifted to Emma for her room.  Well since then we have made an addition to that wall!

Last Summer, I found a great local store called 509 Design and after receiving a gift card for my birthday I went and snatched up some Umber Wallflutter Dragonfly Decals for $20 (yes, it is a splurge for me).  After seeing the prints on the wall… I knew they needed a little something extra, but I decided not to hang a mobile cause I don’t want to block the prints… dragonflies were the answer, so I whipped them out of storage!

They were super simple to install.  You had two options, either use little stickies to just press them on the wall, or take the small tacks that they provide and simply push them in.  We opted for the tacks.

Then the dragonflies (made of lightweight plastic) simply snapped into place.

So we pushed in all the tacks to get a general layout…

Then I had to just simply snap them all on!

This is were I had wrapped up my post last week, until I was looking at these pictures and had an epiphany!  Why not… whip out the spray paint!?

Perfect!  One little purple splash.

Love you Emma Jo, you’re room is growing with personality, just like you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kris permalink
    August 20, 2012 8:04 am

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lily has butterflies just like that 🙂

  2. August 21, 2012 12:15 pm

    I LOVE the dragon flies! I am so jealous of all you bloggers that find amazing things at thrift stores. I swear the only thing I’ve ever found are some pretty vintage books that matched my bedroom decor!

Leave a Reply

