Skip to content

Holy September!

September 28, 2012

So… did anyone else realize September is almost over!?  My goodness.  This has been as INSANE month for us, sorry for absolutely no blog posts, but we barely had time to brush our teeth.  Most of the photos in this update were taken with my phone, so excuse any clarity issues… lately there is no time to whip out the DSLR, just need to grab what’s handy!

 So let’s do a quick recap and preview some posts that will be coming out over the next couple of weeks… what did we do in September?

 Well the month started with Labor Day Weekend, as September usually does… that weekend we spent at home. I worked on a work project that hit my desk a few days prior, my biggest project since I started this job three years ago.  Let me tell ya it’s a behemoth, or as my broker says it’s “The Motherload.”  So a ton of my time in September was dedicated to it, and I will be happy to put it in the mail in the middle of October and kiss it goodbye!  We squeezed in a little time to add more pictures to Emma’s gallery wall in the nursery, editing photos from a Senior shoot I did in August, and spent an evening with Chris’ family, before heading back to work.

The following weekend was my very first, and what has been determined to be my only, Wedding shoot.  I was blessed to spend a day with the new Mr. & Mrs. Washington.  I was asked to come and snap pictures throughout the day and I loved it, but Weddings are waaaaayyyy too stressful.  I will never do another one, never is a long time, but I’m sure I will stand my ground on this one.  It’s just not my thing… maybe second-shooting sometime, but never first-shooter.  Props to all you wedding photographers out there, I have mad respect for you!  I prefer my slower paced shoots that can be retaken if I thoroughly screw it up!

After that, I have been slowly editing photos in what little spare time I have and using the rest to soak in Emma Time!  Emma was introduced to her “big girl” toys this month.  Her Jumperoo and the fantabulous Graco Bumper Jumper!  You can check out a poor quality video of Emma jumping here.  She prefers jumping in the doorway, but the Jumperoo is gaining popularity… even though we have to put a blanket under her feet so she can reach the “floor” and launch herself!  The middle of the month, marked Emma turning four months old too!  At her four month check up, she came in at a whopping 15 lbs. 5 oz. – what a little tank my baby is, couldn’t love those cheeks anymore than I do!

We also started making and freezing homemade baby food.  So far we have frozen up some avocados and butternut squash, we have many more on the agenda.

After her appointment, we were given a green light on introducing Emma to some solid foods… while we are doing this cautiously, as we think she definitely needs plenty of formula… we have started spoonfeeding her some rice cereal, and we gave sweet potatoes a try the other night.  Emma is just not so sure about it at this point, we’ll let you know when her official vote is in.  For now, she maybe takes 3-4 bites and then loses interest… Here’s a little play-by-play for ya!

We were able to get out of the house a little one week to spend some valuable tummy time with our good friend Lauryn!  Love watching these two girls together!  Lauryn is rolling, so Emma watched her intently!

As far as house projects go, they were virtually nonexistent this month.  We have prepped for some upcoming ones that we are hoping take place in October… otherwise these all fell to the wayside to make room for Emma, work and photo shoots.  October is bound to be another busy one for us, as my big work project doesn’t go away until the middle of the month and Chris is picking up a side gig throughout harvest season… we have some big house projects coming up and the extra moolah will help speed those along, can I get a whoop whoop!? 

Otherwise, for now we are enjoying Emma time and some big moments!  On September 23rd, Emma rolled over for the first time – sad news, both Chris and I missed it…. We were all sitting on the floor together, encouraging her to roll over – she has been close for weeks – when we got distracted by the TV (darn football)… when we looked back down she was on her tummy just happy as a clam.  No, she hasn’t done it since… oh well, we’ll keep waiting… Her “baby” hair all seemed to fall out last month and her new hair (if that’s how it works) seems to all be coming in now… here’s to hoping that she’s not bald until she’s three like her Mommy!  And on September 26th, her first tooth started poking through!  It was quickly followed by her second tooth coming through on the 27th (yesterday)!  What a big girl we have already!

Can you see the two bottom teeth in the last picture?! Luckily, she isn’t fussy at all, we can still get lots of smiles – soon to be toothy smiles!  So long for now, we’ll be back!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kris permalink
    September 28, 2012 8:05 am

    Emma – PLEASE stop growing!!!!!!!! You are getting too big and we miss you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hugs and Kisses – Auntie Krissy

  2. Trudy permalink
    September 28, 2012 8:44 am

    OMG, she is the most beautiful baby girl.

  3. Sue permalink
    September 28, 2012 9:33 am

    Kelli,
    You did a great job. Can’t wait to see more. Thanks.

  4. September 28, 2012 9:03 pm

    Wao, very nice pictures. You made me feel like having more babies 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Btw, if you are looking for more tips about Homemade baby food recipes. Try this FREE android app here https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.actsmartware.app000006982

Leave a Reply

