Skip to content

Living it up, in the Living Room

October 30, 2012

Hello!  And welcome back for another pinterest challenge at The Helm House!  This is our fifth time participating in these challenges (the brain child of the always witty Sherry from Young House Love and Katie from Bower Power).

Our previous challenges have been some fun ones, including:

  • Our Mosaic Wall Art we did for our guestroom, although it never came to fruition because that room quickly turned into a nursery!
  • Our Drop Cloth “Cape” Curtains from Super Hero Week where we announced we were expecting our little monster!
  • A Textured Canvas that snuck it’s way in at the beginning of the year for a wonderful winter wedding!
  • And lastly, a Flower Mobile for our sweet little Emma’s nursery

So this round, I thought I would bring it back down to the main floor.  We have these wonderful colonnades between our living and dining rooms, which we absolutely adore.  However the bookcases on the living room side have always been a little lack luster…

I have debated painting the back of them for over two years now, but because I can’t seem to find time to paint the walls (mainly because I am dreading painting the ishy popcorn ceiling), I just never thought it was worth it.  Even with my pretty heartthrob Rigley the Rhino taking residence there…

That was until the never-failing Pinterest gave me an idea!  Why not use fabric – it’s totally replaceable, interchangable, huggable, unbelievable!  I scoped out some ideas…

Like the first one above, it a good tutorial from In My Own Style.  So the little monster and I headed to Walmart and picked up just one yard of fabric.  We found a great bold striped pattern that is marroon and ivory, it was discounted for $1/yard, so we just took everything they had left, for a whopping $1.83!  Can I get a whoop whoop?! (No? Okay… moving on…)

When we got home, I ran out to the garage and grabbed some scrap cardboard, a tape measure and a utility knife.  From the junk drawer, I just grabbed some painters tape… I figured that would work great to hold my fabric and not ruin it in case I wanted to use it in the future for pillows or what-have-you.

I did a quick rough measurements, cut and taped… A half hour later, or in Emma’s world – two Doc McStuffins episodes later… This is what we were left with!  What do you think?!

Not too shabby for $1.83, huh?!  And Perfectly, Imperfect!  Anywho, thanks for stopping by!  I want to encourage you to visit the Pinterest Challenge Birthers Mamas to check out their projects below.  In addition, their two co-pinners this challenge, Sarah from Ugly Duckling House and Carmel from Our Fifth House.

I have a great time working on these Pinterest Challenges every season, it always seems to give me the go-go blogging juice I need!  I’d like to say sorry for the poor pictures and use of old photos… this little monster doesn’t give me much of a chance to snap any… so I use what I got! 🙂 Anywho, I will be back tomorrow with some Halloween fun!  See you then!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2012 9:35 am

    Love your new striped shelves. They look awesome!

  2. October 30, 2012 10:40 am

    Nice job, Kelli ~ I love seeing you DIY projects ~ LOVE your thrifty ways even more!

  3. Theresa(Trudy) Redmon permalink
    October 30, 2012 10:59 am

    Love, it is perfect, I have a shadow bod type thing going up my stairs and did a similar thing.
    Who is the Tom Clancy fan? My husband and I met him and his first wife and children on the auto Train about 18 years ago, we still have his autograph on a tickst stub.

  4. October 30, 2012 11:18 am

    love it! I want to cover the backs of some (seriously ugly) shelves we have too.

  5. October 30, 2012 11:56 am

    Looks awesome! Love the Rhino! 🙂

  6. October 30, 2012 12:59 pm

    Wow- it turned out great!

  7. Christine @ Casa-de-Christine permalink
    October 30, 2012 2:02 pm

    It turned out fabulous! I love a patterned back on a bookshelf. The price is even better!!

  8. October 30, 2012 5:34 pm

    Love it! So cheap, you could change it with the seasons! Although I do love the stripey pop.

  9. October 30, 2012 5:36 pm

    I love those stripes, they make such a difference! Definitely more fun than painting 🙂

  10. October 30, 2012 5:49 pm

    How great that I found your sweet bookshelves on YHL today. I’m looking for that exact fabric. Walmart here I come.

  11. October 30, 2012 9:22 pm

    Cute! I dig the stripes!

  12. October 30, 2012 10:58 pm

    Hi! Your shelves look fantastic with the fabric background! And I love that you spent less than two bucks on it!

Leave a Reply

